Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics



Proceedings of the Twenty-second (22^{nd}) Conference

Townsville, Queensland, AUSTRALIA 2nd July – 5th July 2017

© Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics, 2017 All rights reserved except under the conditions described in the Australian Copyright Act 1968 and subsequent amendments, no part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or be transmitted in any form, or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, duplicating, or otherwise, without prior permission of the copyright owner. Contact the Committee of the Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics for all permission requests.

ISSN Number: ISBN Number:

Produced by:

Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics C/-AGBU
University of New England
Armidale NSW 2350

Internet web site: http://www.aaabg.org

PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE



Dear AAABG Members, Delegates and Partners, On behalf of the Organising Committee it is my pleasure to extend a warm and cheerful welcome to you all to the 22nd AAABG conference in Townsville, Queensland. We respectfully acknowledge the Traditional Owners of this land on which we are meeting, the Bindal and Wulgurukaba people, we pay respect to their Elders – past, present and emerging – and acknowledge the important role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people continue to play within our community.

This is the fourth time The Sunshine State has hosted the AAABG conference with Brisbane (1982), Rockhampton (1992) and Noosa Lakes (2005) preceding Townsville. Hopefully the weather has aligned with our wishes and the tropical winter allows you to experience the lifestyle, culture and heritage that make this region so unique.

Acclaimed as the natural second capital city of Queensland, Townsville and its region have a vibrant primary sector including cattle and fisheries. It is also home to leading institutions like James Cook University (JCU), the Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS) and the Australian Tropical Sciences and Innovation Precinct (ATSIP), a joint venture between JCU and CSIRO.

For the 22nd AAABG conference, the Organising Committee has worked under the banner of "Science Enabling Industry Outcomes" to reflect the intent to amalgamate breeders, R&D providers and scientists in their efforts to catalyse the translation of scientific findings to industrially useful applications. In addition to the customary species- and methodology-oriented sessions, the conference program boasts two industry sessions lead by agribusiness specialists from Australia and New Zealand, as well as a Q&A session aimed at fostering a fruitful dialogue among all parties.

For their generous support, I am grateful to the sponsors. Their funding has allowed us to attract invited speakers of international calibre, hire the venue and enjoy catering that the registration fee alone could have not afforded. The conference organisers, ASN Events in general and Jennifa Vo in particular, have worked tirelessly and to the highest professional standards to ensure a successful conference.

It has been gratifying to see the enthusiasm and commitment of the session chairs supervising the reviewing process of the papers allocated to their session. Ed Charmley and Dean Jerry are accredited for organising the beef and aquaculture tours, respectively.

I hope you enjoy the program, use the opportunity to cement old friendships, establish new ones, and leave with fond, lasting memories of the 22nd AAABG conference in Townsville.

Toni Reverter President, 2017 AAABG

ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF ANIMAL BREEDING AND GENETICS 2017

TWENTY SECOND CONFERENCE COMMITTEE

President Toni Reverter
President Elect Kim Bunter
Vice President Yutao Li
Secretary Marina Fortes
Treasurer James Kijas

Editor Laercio Porto-Neto
Organising Committee Bill Barandse

Ben Hayes
Dean Jerry
Burnett Joyce
Louise Joyce
Russell Lyons
Stephen Moore
Bill Pattie
Jennie Pryce
Rob Woolaston

ASN Events

Professional Conference Organiser

CITATION OF PAPERS

Papers in this publication should be cited as appearing in the Proceedings of the Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics (Abbreviation: Proc. Assoc. Advmt. Anim. Breed. Genet.)

For example:

Bowley F.E., Amer P.R. and Meier S. (2013) New approaches to genetic analysis of fertility traits in New Zealand dairy cattle. *Proc. Assoc. Advmt. Anim. Breed. Genet.* **20**: 37-40.

REVIEWERS and SECTION EDITORS

All papers, invited and contributed, were subjected to peer review by two referees. We acknowledge and thank those people listed below for their work in reviewing the papers (and apologise if we have inadvertently omitted any reviewer from the list).

Reviewers:

Mary Abdelsayed Sarita Guy Amin Mohamed
Jena Alexopoulos Timothy Hancock Carel Muller
Othman Alqaisi Rhiannon Handcock Laercio Porto-Neto
Peter Amer Sue Hatcher Baltasar Fernandes Garcia
Jason Archer Ben Hayes Joanna Newton
Robert Banks Fiona Hely Thuy Nguyen

Fiona Hely Robert Banks Thuy Nguyen Stephen Barwick John Henshall Loan Nguyen Irene Van Den Berg Susanne Hermesch Tansyn Noble Gertje Petersen Vinzent Boerner Andrew Hess Forbes Brien John Holmes Wayne Pitchford Daniel Brown Roger Huerlimann Matthew Price Kim Bunter Dean Jerry Jennie Pryce Roberto Carvalheiro Gilbert Jeyaruban Cheryl Quinton Patricia Johnson Fernanda Raidan Yizhou Chen Sam Clark **David Johnston** Jerome Raoul Schalk Cloete **David Jones** Antonio Reverter Haja Kadarmideen Lucy Coleman Fernanda Rezende Natalie Connors Mohammad Kalaldeh Kristian Ridley

David Cottle Parthan Kasarapu Penny Riggs Christine Couldrey Mike Keehan Sara De las Heras Saldana Neil Cullen Octavia Kelly Marina Naval Sanchez Hans Daetwyler Majid Khansefid Marina Naval Sanchez Akhmad Dakhlan Mehar Khatkar Lise Sandenbergh Dion Detterer Brian Kinghorn Bruno Santos Ken Dodds Lambros Koufariotis Beth Scott Sonja Dominik Theodor Kristjansson Saleh Shahinfar

Kath Donoghue Sigrid Lehnert Ric Sherlock Naomi Duijvesteijn Yutao Li Eva Strucken Alison Van Eenennaam Jan Strugnell Li Li Russell Lyons Mohammad Ferdosi Andrew Swan Andrew Foote Paul Maclean Siriporn Tongsiri Marina Fortes Iona MacLeod Jose Torres Vazquez

Dorian Garrick Hawlader Al-Mamun Sam Walkom Bradley Walmsley Masoud Soltani-Ghombavani Mekonnen Haile-Mariam Evgeny Glazov John McEwan **Tingting Wang** Matt Wolcott Mike Goddard Rudi McEwin Cedric Gondro Aaron McMillan **Rob Woolaston** Klint Gore Lorna Mcnaughton Shernae Woolley Ruidong Xiang Tom Granleese Thaise Pinto de Melo Juncong Yan Johan Greeff Karin Meyer Phillip Gurman Nasir Moghaddar Yuandan Zhang