# ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF ANIMAL BREEDING AND GENETICS



## **Proceedings of the Twentieth Conference**

Translating Science into Action

Napier, New Zealand

20th October – 23rd October 2013

### © Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics, 2013

All rights reserved except under the conditions described in the Australian Copyright Act 1968 and subsequent amendments, no part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or be transmitted in any form, or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, duplicating, or otherwise, without prior permission of the copyright owner. Contact the Committee of the Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics for all permission requests.

ISSN 1328-3227 ISBN 978-0-473-26056-9

Produced by:
Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics
C/- AAABG Secretary
Massey University
Palmerston North
New Zealand

Internet web site: <a href="http://www.aaabg.org">http://www.aaabg.org</a>

Available from:
AAABG Distribution Service
c/- AGBU
The University of New England
Armidale, NSW 2351
Australia

#### PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE



A very warm welcome to the 20<sup>th</sup> AAABG meeting in Napier, New Zealand. This is the third time New Zealand has hosted the Biennial meeting, and we trust it will be as enjoyable as the previous occasions.

The theme for the conference is "Translating Science into Action". There have been similar themes for previous meetings. In 1997 we had "Breeding ... responding to client needs", and in 1990 "Technology prospects and transfer". This should be unsurprising given that the third of our Association Objectives is "to promote communication among all those interested in the application of genetics to animal production, particularly breeders and their organisations, consultants, extension workers, educators and geneticists". The primary point of the plenary

session devoted to the topic in this meeting is to recognise that in this age of information overload, we might need to pause and think about how we provide new information to end-users. The electronic media are revolutionising our ability to transmit information to potential users and we may think that is the scientist's or extension officer's job done – the information transfer box is ticked. However, we have limited information to tell us how to best present information to cause behavioural change in our target farmer / rural professional community. There is likely a fertile research patch to address this gap in knowledge through joint research with social scientists and educationalists.

Further to the translating science into action theme, a Sheep Breeders' Day will take place on Thursday 24 October 2013 at the Hawke's Bay A&P Showgrounds. This is the 150<sup>th</sup> Show and it has been granted "Royal Event" status to recognise the importance of the occasion. The A&P Association is making a major effort to ensure that a suitably grand event transpires and it will be fantastic to have the AAABG represented at the Show.

Hawkes Bay has a vibrant primary sector with sheep, beef cattle, dairy and deer all featuring prominently in the economy, and the region is home to a good number of ram and bull-breeding operations. Hawkes Bay is also well known for its horticultural industries with several top wineries, many orchards and a variety of food crops such as squash.

As any event organiser knows, sponsorship helps to oil the financial wheels. We have been fortunate in getting strong support from several sponsors for which we are very grateful. The sponsors are recognised on a following page in these proceedings.

We trust that you will have an enjoyable time improving your knowledge in Animal Breeding and Genetics, and that you will enjoy the camaraderie of other attendees as you learn something about Napier and Hawkes Bay.

Hugh Blair President, AAABG

# ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF ANIMAL BREEDING AND GENETICS

### TWENTIETH CONFERENCE

### **COMMITTEE**

President Hugh Blair
President-Elect Mike Goddard
Vice President Geoff Nicoll
Secretary Rebecca Hickson
Treasurer Patrick Morel
Members Rao Dukkipati

Many New Zealand AAABG

Members

Editor Nicolas Lopez Villalobos

Proceedings Production Bill Pattie

Barrie Restall Sarah Siebert

Professional Conference Organiser Sarah Siebert

Massey University

### CITATION OF PAPERS

Papers in this publication should be cited as appearing in the Proceedings of the Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics (Abbreviation: Proc. Assoc. Advmt. Anim. Breed. Genet.)

For example:

Bowley F.E., Amer P.R. and Meier S. (2013) New approaches to genetic analysis of fertility traits in New Zealand dairy cattle. *Proc. Assoc. Advmt. Anim. Breed. Genet.* **20**: 37-40.

#### **REVIEWERS**

All papers, invited and contributed, were subject to peer review by two referees. The following people are acknowledged and thanked for their work in reviewing the papers.

Mary AbdelsayedZoey DurmicPaul KenyonDaniel AbernethySandra EadyMehar KhatkarHawlader Al-MamunSophia EdwardsJames KijasPeter AmerA EngelbrechtBrian KinghornNeville AmyesMajbritt FellekiKonstantin Konstantinov

Jason ArcherMark FergusonMichael LeePaul ArthurEster FloresLi Li

Kevin Atkins Neal Fogarty Nicolas Lopez Villalobos

Benoit Auvray Marina Fortes Nils Lundeheim Wendy Bain Jose Garcia-Muñiz Iona MacLeod

Alex Ball Dorian Garrick Daniel Martin-Collado
Rob Banks John Gibson John McEwan
Bill Barendse Sam Gill David McGill
Steve Barwick Arthur Gilmour Brian McGuirk
Rolf Beilharz Mike Goddard Bill McKiernan

Donagh Berry Cedric Gondro Karin Meyer Samantha Bickell Oscar Gonzalez-Recio Filippo Miglior Matt Bixley Nasir Moghaddar Tom Granleese Patrick Morel Dominique Blache Johan Greeff Hugh Blair Boyd Gudex Steve Morris Vinzent Boerner Boyd Gudex Sue Mortimer

Sunduimijid Bolormaa Mekkonen Haile-Mariam Carel Muller Cynthia Bottema **Bevin Harris** Gert Nieuwhof Frances Bowley Willem Olivier Sue Hatcher Forbes Brien Ben Haves Peter Parnell Daniel Brown Fiona Hely Natalie Pickering Kim Bunter John Henshall Laurie Piper Heather Burrow Robert Herd Wayne Pitchford Timothy Byrne Susan Hermesch Laercio Porto Neto Yizhou Chen Cord Heuer

James Preston Sam Clark Rebecca Hickson Jennie Pryce Bronwyn Clarke Janelle Hocking Edwards Ian Purvis Schalk Cloete Nicholas Hudson Herman Raadsma Rene Corner Janusz Jamrozik Imtiaz Randhawa David Cottle Gilbert Jeyaruban Antonio Reverter Neil Cullen David Johnson James Rowe Brian Dalrymple Patricia Johnson Lise Sandenbergh Hans Daetwyler **David Johnston** Bruno Santos

Hans Daetwyler David Johnston Bruno Santos
Yvette de Haas Elisabeth Jonas Anthony Schlink
Dirk-Jan De Koning Neville Jopson Chris Schrooten
Dion Detterer Haja Kadarmideen Ross Shepherd
Cathy Dodd Mohammad Kalaldeh Richard Sherlock

Kath Donoghue Michael Keehan Jude Sise
Rao Dukkipati Kathryn Kemper Jen Smith

Richard Spelman Katarzyna Stachowicz Andrew Swan Imke Tammen Ross Tellam Carel Teseling Peter Thomson Bruce Tier Julius van der Werf

Alison Van Eenennaam Ilse van Grevenhof Japie Van Wyk Carlos Vazquez Klara Verbyla Phil Vercoe

Steve Walkden-Brown Eileen Wall Bradley Walmsley Shalanee Weerasinghe Brian Wickham Anne Winkelman Matthew Wolcott Rob Woolaston Mark Young Emily Young Yuandan Zhang