#### HELEN NEWTON TURNER MEDAL TRUST

The Helen Newton Turner Medal Trust was established in 1993 following an anonymous donation to the Animal Genetics and Breeding Unit to perpetuate the memory of Helen Newton Turner and to encourage and inspire those engaged in animal genetics.



**Helen Newton Turner AO** 

### **Trustees of the Helen Newton Turner Trust are:**

- Ms Kate Lorimer-Ward (Chair), NSW Department of Primary Industries (DPI)
- Prof. Brian Kinghorn, University of New England (UNE)
- Dr Robert Banks, Animal Genetics and Breeding Unit (AGBU) (UNE)
- Prof. James Rowe, National Farmers Federation (NFF)
- Mr Ian Locke, Association for the Advancement of Animal Breeding and Genetics (AAABG)

### THE HELEN NEWTON TURNER MEDAL

The Medal is named after Dr Helen Newton Turner whose career with CSIRO was dedicated to research into the genetic improvement of sheep for wool production.

The Helen Newton Turner Medal was first awarded in 1994 to Associate Professor John James and a list of all recipients to date is given below. The Helen Newton Turner Medallist is chosen by Trustees from the ranks of those persons who have made an outstanding contribution to genetic improvement of Australian livestock.

The recipient of the Medal is invited to deliver an Oration on a topical subject of their choice.

## Medallists

1994	J.W. James	2003	F.W. Nicholas	2015	A.R. Gilmour
1995	L.R. Piper	2005	K. Hammond	2017	A. Collins
1997	J. Litchfield	2007	L. Corrigan	2019	K.D. Atkins
1998	J.S.F. Barker	2009	R. Hawker	2021	J.H.J van der Werf
1999	C.W. Sandilands	2011	R. Banks		
2001	G.A. Carnaby	2013	M. Goddard		

The Oration of the 2021 Medal recipient, Professor Julius van der Werf, is reproduced in the AAABG Special Issue of Animal Production Science that accompanies these proceedings.

# THE HELEN NEWTON TURNER BRIGHT FUTURES AWARD

In 2021, the Trust established a new award, the Helen Newton Turner Bright Futures Award to recognise the achievements of an up-and-coming individual who is showing evidence of establishing a reputation for excellence in the field of animal genetics within Australia.

2021 S.A. Clark